Karloo Pool Bush Walk

Karloo Pool

Karloo Pool

Today, I woke up early and looked at the weather forecasts; fine, late afternoon showers or two. I decided to go for a bush walk in the southern suburbs as trackworks were underway in the northen suburbs. I bought the Syndey Morning Herald bush, park and city walks acouple weeks ago as it seemed to be well written. Karloo Pool through the Bottlebrush Forest looked nice, so I decided to go at 10h30ish.

I got the train to Heathcote station and followed the instructions in the book… It says to go over the tracks and make a right on Wilson Parade. There’s no indication to tell the name of the street I am walking on, so I keep going and going and going way passed 100 metres without any “supposed to be there” sign indicating the start of the track. After walking in circle for about an hour, 20 of which was raining, I saw a sign saying “Wilson Parade”, which is on the other side of the train track!!! The book I have is not very clear on exactly where to go when you get off the train and I lost an hour walking around like a moron. To anyone doing this walk, if your coming from the city, DO NOT cross over the train tracks, go right instead, heading to the fire station. This is Wilson Parade. If your coming from Waterfall, cross over the tracks. Make a right on Wilson Parade and you will see the sign making the start on the track.

The walk is great and not that difficult. The landscape is superb and Karloo pool is great! It’s winter time, so noboby was swimming having dip, though I can imagine that’ll be awesome in the summer. I’ve met 5 people

Karloo Pool

Karloo Pool

during my journey, only one person were sitting on the rocks where the pool were… After a couple of pictures around I made my way at the pond and he was gone, leaving me alone for the whole time I spent in this lovely area. I sat down a bit, took some pictures and can easily imagine myself swimming around there in summer! The walk back was good and I got back just on time ti catch the train back in the city! That was a sweet day…

Karloo Pool

Karloo Pool

Crow

Crow

Karloo Pool

Karloo Pool

Karloo Pool Bush Walk

Karloo Pool Bush Walk

Karloo Pool Bush Walk

Karloo Pool Bush Walk

Karloo Pool

Karloo Pool

4 thoughts on “Karloo Pool Bush Walk

  1. Salut mon Pace….!!! J’ai bien hâte de te revoir, va falloir qu’on en vire une dans mon chez moi avant que je parte!

    Take care mon ami

  2. I am gonna go there by this Saturday 27th Feb 2010 with around 10 others. We love bush walking and do it every Saturday or Sunday. Thanks for sharing it with us.
    have a nice bush walking to other area.

    Take care

Leave a comment